City Council

City Council Members

James S. Hering

Mayor | Term Expires 2020

Tony Ocampo

At Large | Term Expires 2021

Andrew Henderson Sr.

Mayor Protem | Ward One
Term Expires 2021

Paul Allison

Council Member | Ward Two
Term Expires 2020

David Taylor

Council Member | Ward Three
Term Expires 2021

Jeff Douglas

Council Member | Ward Four
Term Expires 2020

The City of McGregor is a home rule city operating under a council/manager form of government. The City Council is comprised of the Mayor and five Council members. The Mayor and one council member are elected at-large, and the remaining council members are elected by ward, with all serving two-year terms. The Mayor Pro-Tem is selected by the City Council from among the council members. The City Council is responsible for adopting the annual budget, appointing committees, hiring the City Attorney, City Manager, City Secretary and Municipal Court Judge, as well as enacting ordinances and establishing the tax rate.

Correspondence to the Mayor and/or the City Council may be sent to:

City Hall

Attn: Angelia Sloan, City Secretary

Physical Address: 302 S. Madison; McGregor, TX 76657

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 192; McGregor, TX 76657

[email protected]

Council Meetings are open to the public.

City Council Meetings are normally held on the second Monday of every month at 6:30 p.m. at City Hall in the Council Chambers, 302 S. Madison St. (North Entrance). Meetings are open to the public, with an agenda posted on the outside bulletin board at City Hall (North Entrance) and on this website by the Friday preceding the meeting (click HERE to see the City Council agendas).

Addressing the Council:

Those interested in addressing the Council may do so at any Council meeting by signing in prior to the opening of the meeting. The sign-in log is located on the right side of the Council Dais.  In order to afford everyone an equal opportunity to address the Council, speakers are asked to limit their presentations to three minutes during the public comment section as posted on the agenda and/or on any agenda item.   Council is unable to take action, but will listen. The Council is prohibited from responding to comments or asking questions, but may ask staff to look into concerns and provide follow-up.

If you plan to present Council with information, have the materials  ready to present to the City Secretary who will distribute to the Council.  Any information you would like to provide to the Council prior to the meeting may be emailed to the City Secretary at [email protected] no later than Tuesday prior to the following Monday’s meeting.

To be placed on the agenda to more formally address the Council, notification should be made no later than the Tuesday prior to the following Monday’s meeting. A written request is required, stating the reason for the appointment and topic to be addressed and this will be placed on the agenda at the discretion of the City Manager and Mayor.


O-7-20 May Election Moved to November

General City Elections are held in May of each year. For more information on how to run for office, please contact the City Secretary’s office at (254) 840-2806 or visit

Notice of Drawing for Place on Ballot

Filing Period 2020

Voting Ward Map

Order of General Election

Certification of Unopposed Candidates

Order to Cancel Portion of the City of McGregor General Election

Election Day Voting Centers

Elimination of Straight Party Voting

Notice of Election