Police Department

The McGregor Police Department provides 24-hour service to approximately 20 square miles within the city limits, with 11 full-time commissioned officers and 5 full-time civilian personnel. The 911 dispatch center operates at all times. 1 full-time animal control officer also serves the community.

James Burson

Chief of Police | Director | Appointed by City Manager


Chief James Burson started his law enforcement career with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) in 1977. He served Colorado City, Mitchell County for 11 years, and Waco, McLennan County, for 15 years. While serving with DPS, James was promoted to Sergeant and then Lieutenant for the Motor Vehicle Theft Service, serving as Auto Theft Commander of the Heart of Texas Auto Theft Task Force for 7 years. After 27 years with the Texas DPS, he retired. James immediately transitioned into service with the Coryell County Sheriff’s Department as Lieutenant. He joined the McGregor Police Department as Assistant Chief in February 2008 and has served as Chief of Police since March of 2017.